New MacBook Pros are here! Get the lowest prices anywhere: Apple Price Guides updated Aug 31st (exclusive coupons)
 


Monday, July 12, 2004, 07:20 am PT (10:20 am ET)

iTMS downloads top 100 million songs; Q3 conference call

iTunes Downloads top 100 million

Apple today announced that music fans have purchased and downloaded more than 100 million songs from the iTunes Music Store, marking a major milestone for the emerging online music business. The 100 millionth song, "Somersault (Dangermouse remix)" by Zero7 was purchased by Kevin Britten, age 20, of Hays, Kansas on Sunday, July 11. As the grand prize winner of Apple’s 100 million song countdown, Kevin Britten will receive a 17-inch PowerBook, a 40GB iPod, a gift certificate for 10,000 iTunes songs to create the ultimate music library for his iPod and the opportunity to create his own Celebrity Playlist to be published on the iTunes Music Store.

"As we cross this historic milestone, we want to thank our customers, the artists and the music labels who have embraced our dream for iTunes," said Steve Jobs, Apple’s CEO. "iTunes quickly outpaced the competition and is far and away the world’s number one online music service."

Apple offers a complete solution for discovering, buying, managing and listening to digital music anywhere with the unbeatable combination of iTunes, iPod and the new AirPort Express™ with AirTunes™ which lets music lovers wirelessly stream music from their Mac or PC to a stereo located in any room in their home.

Apple FY 04 third quarter results conference call

Apple today also announced that it will provide live audio streaming of its FY 04 Third Quarter Results Conference Call utilizing the company's popular QuickTime 6 software. The live audio webcast will be accessible through Apple’s web site. Viewers simply need to download a copy of QuickTime 6 in advance from www.apple.com/quicktime to listen to the conference call.

The conference call is scheduled for Wednesday, July 14, 2004, 2:00 p.m. PDT/5:00 p.m. EDT. The call will also be available as a continuous rebroadcast beginning Wednesday July 14 at 5:00 p.m. PDT/8:00 p.m. EDT through Wednesday, July 21 at 5:00 p.m. PDT/8:00 p.m. EDT. The dial in number for the rebroadcast is (719) 457-0820.

AppleInsider will be provide detailed coverage of the conference call, as Apple typically provides interesting nuggets of information during the questions and answers session with analysts.