Save an additional 3% on all MacBook Airs and MacBook Pros: Apple Price Guides updated July 26th (exclusive coupons)
 


Wednesday, July 13, 2005, 01:30 pm PT (04:30 pm ET)

Apple reports record quarter, smokes estimates

Apple today announced financial results for its fiscal 2005 third quarter ended June 25, 2005, reporting the highest revenue and earnings in the Company’s history.

Apple posted a net quarterly profit of $320 million, or $.37 per diluted share, and revenue of $3.52 billion. These results compare to a net profit of $61 million, or $.08 per diluted share, and revenue of $2.01 billion in the year-ago quarter, and represent revenue growth of 75 percent and net profit growth of 425 percent. Gross margin was 29.7 percent, up from 27.8 percent in the year-ago quarter. International sales accounted for 39 percent of the quarter’s revenue.

Apple shipped 1,182,000 Macintosh units and 6,155,000 iPods during the quarter, representing 35 percent growth in Macs and 616 percent growth in iPods over the year-ago quarter.

“We are delighted to report Apple’s best quarter ever in both revenue and earnings,” said Steve Jobs, Apple’s CEO. “The launch of Mac OS X Tiger has been a tremendous success, and we have more amazing new products in the pipeline.”

“We’re very pleased to report 75 percent revenue growth and a 425 percent increase in net income,” said Peter Oppenheimer, Apple’s CFO. “Looking ahead to the fourth quarter of fiscal 2005, we expect revenue of about $3.5 billion and earnings per diluted share of about $.32.”

Apple will provide live streaming of its Q3 2005 financial results conference call set to begin at 2:00 p.m. PDT / 5:00 p.m. EDT today. AppleInsider will provide full coverage.