Lowest Prices anywhere on MacBooks: Apple Price Guides updated Apr 24th (use exclusive coupons, tax-free options to save hundreds)
 


Tuesday, March 01, 2011, 11:00 am PT (02:00 pm ET)

Steve Jobs said to be considering an appearance at Apple's iPad 2 event

Despite the fact that he is on medical leave from his day-to-day duties at Apple, company co-founder Steve Jobs may appear at Wednesday's iPad 2 media event, according to a new report.

Kara Swisher of BoomTown reported Tuesday that Jobs is "mulling" an appearance at the company's scheduled unveiling of the second-generation iPad. However, sources reportedly stressed that an appearance from the chief executive is "definitely not confirmed."

"If he did appear, sources said Jobs would at least make a brief appearance onstage, along with other top company execs in showing off Apple's latest version of its hugely popular tablet," the report said.

Jobs, who turned 56 last week, has been spotted in public numerous times and even joined other Silicon Valley luminaries for dinner with President Barack Obama earlier this month. He was also spotted at California's Stanford Cancer Center.

Jobs announced in mid January that he would take a leave of absence from his daily duties at Apple. He is still involved in major strategic decisions and remains the company's chief executive.

The Apple CEO has not revealed the condition of his medical leave of absence, citing his health as a private matter. He has a history with cancer, undergoing surgery on his pancreas in 2004, and receiving cancer treatment and a liver transplant in 2009.

Apple is expected to introduce the second-generation iPad at an event at the Yerba Buena Center for the Arts in San Francisco, Calif., on Wednesday. The media event is scheduled to start at 10 a.m. Pacific, 1 p.m. Eastern, and AppleInsider will have full coverage.