New MacBook Pros are here! Get the lowest prices anywhere: Apple Price Guides updated Aug 27th (exclusive coupons)
 


Monday, October 17, 2011, 10:55 am PT (01:55 pm ET)

Apple on verge of announcing new iPhone, iPad and Mac sales records

Apple on Tuesday is likely to announce a blowout quarter in which it set a new sales records across three of its four major product lines without the aid of a lucrative holiday shopping season, newly released sales data implies.

An analysis by investment bankers at Piper Jaffray of NPD sales data released Monday leads the firm to predict sales of 22 million iPhones, 10 million iPads and 4.5 million Macs during Apple's fiscal fourth quarter of 2011, which ended on September 30th. Results are due following the close of the stock market on Tuesday.

Each estimate would translate to a new sales record for the Cupertino-based company, which last set a new benchmark for iPhone sales at 20.34 million and iPad sales at 9.25 million during the second quarter of 2011. Meanwhile, its all-time best quarter for Macs came during last year's holiday quarter at 4.1 million units.

"We recommend owning shares of AAPL into the September quarter results based on strong Mac sales and margin leverage on iPhone and iPad volume," analyst Gene Munster advised clients in a research note Monday. "More important than the September quarter, we believe the set up for the next 6 months is favorable based on likely investor optimism around the holiday quarter, the impact of iPhone 4S, and talk in early 2012 of iPhone 5 and iPad 3."

On average, analysts on Wall Street expect Apple to earn around $7.31 per share on revenues of $29.45 billion, driven by sales of 19.7 million iPhones, 11.4 million iPads, 4.4 million Macs and 7.4 million iPods.

AppleInsider will provide full coverage of Apple's fiscal fourth quarter earnings call beginning at 5:00 p.m. ET, 2:00 p.m. PT on Tuesday.