Apple reveals 36 finalists for 2021 Apple Design Awards

article thumbnail

AppleInsider is supported by its audience and may earn commission as an Amazon Associate and affiliate partner on qualifying purchases. These affiliate partnerships do not influence our editorial content.

Apple has revealed the finalists for its 2021 Apple Design Awards, which will crown six winners for producing innovative apps for iOS and iPadOS.

Revealed on Tuesday, Apple has chosen six finalists across six categories, with the award honoring "excellence in innovation, ingenuity, and technical achievement in app and game design."

The categories for 2021 are Inclusivity, Delight and Fun, Interaction, Social Impact, Visuals and Graphics, and Innovation.

Apple will be announcing the winners on June 10, toward the end of WWDC 2021. Winners will receive the iconic Apple Design Award, a physical metal cube bearing the app's name and category, as well as the Apple logo.

Apple crowned eight winners in 2020, including photography app Darkroom, animation and musical tool Looom, and the Apple Arcade game Sayonara Wild Hearts.

The list of finalist apps follows:


Delight and Fun


Social Impact

Visual and Graphics


Follow all the details of WWDC 2021 with the comprehensive AppleInsider coverage of the whole week-long event from June 7 through June 11, including details of all the new launches and updates.

Stay on top of all Apple news right from your HomePod. Say, "Hey, Siri, play AppleInsider," and you'll get latest AppleInsider Podcast. Or ask your HomePod mini for "AppleInsider Daily" instead and you'll hear a fast update direct from our news team. And, if you're interested in Apple-centric home automation, say "Hey, Siri, play HomeKit Insider," and you'll be listening to our newest specialized podcast in moments.