Order your new iMac 5K now & save hundreds in tax: Apple Price Guides updated Oct 25th (exclusive coupons)
The New AppleInsider App
 


Monday, March 28, 2011, 11:40 am PT (02:40 pm ET)

Bomb threat forces evacuation of Apple's Sacramento facility [u]

A bomb threat at Apple's distribution center in Elk Grove, Calif., forced an evacuation of three buildings while emergency personnel assessed the potential threat, though no bomb was found.

People with knowledge of Monday's ongoing incident informed AppleInsider that the eastern three buildings A, B and C have been evacuated at the Apple Sacramento Campus. The site is used for receiving, warehousing and logistics, and is comprised of three warehouses totaling 450,000 square feet.

The buildings were evacuated Monday around 12:30 p.m. Eastern, 9:30 a.m. Pacific. As of Monday afternoon around 2:30 Eastern, 11:30 local time, emergency personnel were still on scene.

The evacuated buildings house refurbished products, returns, finance and human resource operations for Apple.

Update: According to Sacramento's Fox40, the all-clear was given by Elk Grove police after five hours. Officials searched more than 100,000 square feet of area to ensure there was no real threat.