Apple extends iPhone 6 and 6 Plus rollout to 22 new countries

AppleInsider may earn an affiliate commission on purchases made through links on our site.

Following Apple's record-breaking iPhone 6 and iPhone 6 Plus launch last week that resulted in stock-outs at many worldwide Apple Stores, the company will open sales of its latest handsets to an additional 22 countries on Friday.

Continuing the iPhone 6 rollout, Apple Stores and retail outlets in Austria, Belgium, Denmark, Finland, Ireland, Isle of Man, Italy, Liechtenstein, Luxembourg, Netherlands, New Zealand, Norway, Portugal, Qatar, Russia, Saudi Arabia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Taiwan, Turkey and the United Arab Emirates will start sales when doors open today. In addition to brick-and-mortar store sales, Online Apple Store customers will also have a chance to place orders for delivery.

The 22 countries join nine launch countries that saw long lines and quick stock-outs one week ago. Along with the U.S., Apple's iPhone 6 debuted in Australia, Canada, France, Germany, Hong Kong, Japan, Puerto Rico, Singapore and the U.K. on Sept. 19.

According to Apple, the latest iPhone models are off to a record-breaking start with 4 million preorders notched in the first 24 hours of availability and launch weekend sales totaling some 10 million units.

With low supply on hand at Apple Stores already selling the iPhone 6, it is unclear how many units the company has ready for today's second wave launch.

Apple is aiming to get its new iPhone into 115 countries by the end of the year, including the important Chinese market that has yet to receive word on availability. On Tuesday, the Chinese government said it expects to issue regulatory approval soon, suggesting an imminent rollout. Demand is such that customers in the country eager to get their hands on the latest iOS device have taken to paying high premiums for handsets smuggled into the country by profiteers.