Affiliate Disclosure
If you buy through our links, we may get a commission. Read our ethics policy.

Which browsers can be set to default for EU users in iOS 17.4

Apple must offer alternatives to Safari within the EU

As part of what the European Union is requiring as part of the Digital Markets Act, Apple is allowing browsers other than Safari to be set as a default in iOS 17.4. Here's what can be chosen.

The first time that an iOS 17 iPhone user in any of the European Union's 27 member states opens Safari, they will be prompted to choose a default browser. It's long been possible to switch from Safari as the default, but now iOS prompts for the decision — and offers a series of options.

Those optional alternative browsers vary slightly between the countries.

Which browsers will be allowed as defaults in EU countries under iOS 17.4

  • Aloha (all countries except Croatia)
  • Brave
  • Chrome
  • DuckDuckGo
  • Edge
  • Firefox
  • Onion Browser
  • Opera
  • Safari

Then AI Search Assistant is available in 23 of the countries, and Ecosia is in 21. The Vivaldi browser will be available as a default in 13 countries, while Web@Work is in 10.

There are also outliers such as BlackBerry Access 3, which is only available in Ireland, Sweden, and Poland. Czechia has one called, and another named Avast.