Affiliate Disclosure
If you buy through our links, we may get a commission. Read our ethics policy.

Apple to launch iPad in 9 more countries this Friday

Apple announced on Monday that the iPad will launch in Austria, Belgium, Hong Kong, Ireland, Luxembourg, Mexico, Netherlands, New Zealand and Singapore this Friday, July 23.

The company said that customers will be able to purchase both the Wi-Fi-only and 3G-capable models of the iPad at all of Apple's retail stores and Apple Authorized resellers. Prices were not made available.

The company also said that the iPad "will roll out to many more countries later this year and Apple will announce availability and local pricing for these additional countries at a later date."

The iPad began its staggered debut in the U.S. on April 3, when the Wi-Fi-only model was made available. Later that month, the Wi-Fi + 3G model was also released stateside.

Production difficulties and demand for the iPad forced Apple to delay the international launch of its touchscreen tablet until May 28, when it went on sale in Australia, Canada, France, Germany, Italy, Japan, Spain, Switzerland and the U.K. Monday's announcement of international expansion means Apple kept its announced July launch timeframe for the 9 new countries.