New MacBook Pros are here! Get the lowest prices anywhere: Apple Price Guides updated Aug 27th (exclusive coupons)
 


Tuesday, August 31, 2010, 03:10 pm PT (06:10 pm ET)

New Apple TV with Netflix streaming to be unveiled Wednesday - report

The new Apple TV, complete with Netflix Instant Watch capabilities, is set to be introduced at Apple's media event Wednesday, according to a new report.

Three anonymous sources reportedly told Bloomberg that the new Apple TV will include "programming from Netflix," which will be available as part of the new set top box platform from Apple. Like the current streaming options available for the iPhone, iPod touch and iPad, the Apple TV-based software would require a monthly subscription with the Netflix service.

The report also reiterated the rumor that the new device will cost just $99, which would be $130 less than the current Apple TV product.

The report did not indicate whether the Netflix functionality would be built-in to the new Apple TV, or it if will be available via the App Store as it is for the iPhone and iPad. Recent rumors have suggested that the new Apple TV, perhaps dubbed iTV, will run the iOS operating system and have access to the App Store.

While Apple is widely expected to introduce a new, smaller iPod nano, and an iPod touch with two cameras and a Retina Display, the awaited Apple TV update was considered less of a certainty. However, the latest report would suggest the hardware is likely to appear.

Apple's "special event" will begin Wednesday at 10 a.m. Pacific Time, 1 p.m. Eastern. AppleInsider will have full live coverage.