Apple's Safety Check in iOS 16 allows users to revoke information from abusers

article thumbnail

AppleInsider is supported by its audience and may earn commission as an Amazon Associate and affiliate partner on qualifying purchases. These affiliate partnerships do not influence our editorial content.

Apple's new Safety Check feature helps victims sever potentially dangerous ties with abusers, allowing them to remotely disable messaging on secondary devices, turn off location tracking, and more.

During the WWDC 2022 keynote, Apple announced a new feature debuting in iOS 16 geared toward helping users trapped in abusive situations. The feature, dubbed Safety Check, allows users to revoke access they've granted to others.

Users can quickly reset all privacy permissions, sign out of iCloud on all devices, and limit all incoming and outgoing messaging to a single device by performing an emergency reset. Additionally, it disables location tracking permissions that they may have given to a domestic or intimate partner.

To create Safety Check, Apple paired with agencies such as the National Network to End Domestic Violence, the National Center for Victims of Crime, and WESNET.

Safety Check also seeks to help users better understand and manage which people ad apps they've given access to.

Apple continues to expand upon safety and privacy features. In 2020, Apple announced privacy "nutrition labels," which details what information an app gathers from users, whether or not the app tracks users, and what data is linked back to a user.

At WWDC 2022, Apple also announced new features to simplify children's account management. These new features guide parents through setting up content restrictions for minors, screen time limits, and location sharing with family members.