YouTube TV comes to 10 more US markets like Atlanta, Houston & Miami

article thumbnail

YouTube TV — Google's recently-launched live streaming service — will soon expand to 10 more U.S. urban markets, the company announced this week.

The new regions include Atlanta, Charlotte, Dallas-Fort Worth, Detroit, Houston, Miami-Fort Lauderdale, Minneapolis-St. Paul, Orlando/Daytona Beach/Melbourne, Phoenix, and finally Washington, D.C. The expansion will happen in "a couple of weeks," according to Google.

Currently YouTube TV is available in just five markets: Chicago, Los Angeles, New York City, Philadelphia, and the San Francisco Bay Area. The base package costs $35 per month, and focuses mainly on the four major broadcast networks — ABC, CBS, Fox, and NBC — along with related channels.

Notably missing are Turner and Viacom channels such as BET, CNN, the Cartoon Network, Comedy Central, and Nickelodeon. Add-ons are available for Showtime and Fox Soccer Plus though, and by default the service provides access to original content from YouTube Red. Another selling point is a built-in cloud DVR, which only deletes recordings after 9 months.

Aside from the Web, YouTube TV can be viewed on iPhones and iPads running iOS 9.1 or later, plus Android devices and Chromecasts. There is no native Apple TV app, but the set-top is indirectly supported by way of AirPlay.

New subscribers can try the service free for the first month. A free Chromecast becomes available after the second month is paid for.


Latest News