Get the Lowest Prices anywhere on Macs, iPads and Apple Watches: Apple Price Guides updated February 24th


Apple Pay expands to 22 US banks, institutions in Russia, China and more

Apple this week updated its Apple Pay availability website for the second time in August, noting additional support has rolled out in the service's domestic U.S. market, as well as in Australia, China, Hong Kong, Russia and the UK.

As usual, the U.S. Apple Pay additions are limited to smaller regional banks and credit unions, with 22 entries tacked on to Apple's rolling list of participating institutions.

Beyond the U.S., Australia's Latitude Financial Services and RACQ now support Apple's payments solution. In China, six institutions — Beijing Rural Commercial Bank, Haikou Rural Commercial Bank, Jiangsu Jiangnan Rural Commercial Bank, Jiangsu Jiangyin Rural, Commercial Bank, Shengjing Bank, Yunnan Rural Credit Cooperatives — flipped the switch on Apple, while Dahsing Bank in Hong Kong jumped on board with support for issued Mastercard and Visa credit cards.

Apple Pay went live for a number of Russian institutions this month, with Bank "Devon-Credit," Credit Union "Payment Center" Ltd. (Mastercard Prepaid cards), Khlynov, Kuban Credit, Levoberezhny, Primsotcbank and Sovcombank all coming on line within the past two weeks.

Finally, customers of UK's Cumberland Building Society can now take advantage of Apple's payments service.

A full list of U.S. additions:

  • Anstaff Bank
  • Bank of Milton
  • Bryn Mawr Trust
  • Credit Union ONE
  • EagleBank
  • Farmers & Merchants Union Bank
  • Farmers National Bank
  • First Bank and Trust Company
  • First Class American Credit Union
  • First National Bank (PA)
  • First National Bank of Crossett
  • First National Bank of Groton
  • Nascoga Federal Credit Union
  • Notre Dame Federal Credit Union
  • Peach State Federal Credit Union
  • Security Federal Bank
  • State Bank
  • Sutton Bank
  • VacationLand Federal Credit Union
  • Wauna Credit Union
  • Western Federal Credit Union
  • Westmoreland Community Federal Credit Union

Apple Pay has enjoyed a steady international expansion over the past few months, with additions arriving on a regular bimonthly basis.

After launching in the U.S. in 2014, Apple's payments product is now available in Australia, Canada, China, France, Hong Kong, Ireland, Japan, New Zealand, Russia, Singapore, Spain, Switzerland Taiwan and the U.K. Most recently, the service arrived in Italy in May.

When iOS 11 launches this fall, Apple plans to bolster Apple Pay's capabilities with Apple Pay Cash, a long-awaited feature that enables person-to-person fund transfers.