Affiliate Disclosure
If you buy through our links, we may get a commission. Read our ethics policy.

Apple Design Awards winners revealed at WWDC 2023

Apple Design Awards

Last updated

As part of WWDC 2023, Apple has selected and announced the twelve winning apps and games across six categories for the Apple Design Awards.

Each WWDC, the best apps and games on the App Store compete for top honors from Apple. The winners were chosen from 36 finalists which demonstrated outstanding technical achievement.

"Apps and games are integral to how we live, work, and play. At Apple, we love to recognize outstanding developers whose apps reflect incredible creativity and design excellence," said Susan Prescott, Apple's vice president of Worldwide Developer Relations. "We want to celebrate each of this year's Apple Design Award winners for crafting thoughtful app experiences and compelling gameplay, empowering and entertaining users everywhere."

Apple Design Awards winners

There are six categories. Apple chose one game and one app from each as the winner of an Apple Design Award.

  • Delight and Fun
    • Duolingo: delightful characters and games teach you language
    • Afterplace: one-handed swipe controls in a vintage pixel adventure
  • Interaction
    • Flighty: beautifully designed travel app with Apple technology at its core
    • Railbound: a polished puzzle game with simple controls
  • Social Impact
    • Headspace: meditation and mindfulness with signature artwork
    • Endling: a side scroller where a fox navigates a land damaged by environmental disaster and human impact
  • Visuals and Graphics
  • Innovation
    • SwingVision: AI tennis coaching powered by the Neural Engine and iPhone camera
    • Marvel Snap: fantastic animations and delightful haptics combine in this collectible card game

    More information can be found about each of the winners on the official Apple Design Awards website.