Powerbeats Pro now available for preorder in South Korea

article thumbnail

AppleInsider is supported by its audience and may earn commission as an Amazon Associate and affiliate partner on qualifying purchases. These affiliate partnerships do not influence our editorial content.

Nearly three months after Apple began taking orders for the Powerbeats Pro in the U.S. and Canada, and almost four months after the device was unveiled, the fully wireless Beats headset went up for preorder in Korea Mexico this week.

The change in availability was revealed in a quiet update to Apple's regional online store, which now shows the black version of Beats' Powerbeats Pro as ready for preorder.

Pricing is pegged at 269,000 won (about $228) and orders placed today are due to arrive between Aug. 16 and Aug. 23. In-store pickup availability is expected on Aug. 23, according to Apple.

Like other regions lucky enough to see a start to sales, Korea does not yet have access to Ivory, Moss or Blue color options. Those colorways are due to arrive sometime this summer, though neither Apple nor Beats has announced an expected timeline for release.

Powerbeats Pro was unveiled in April as the Beats brand's first fully wireless earphone product. Aesthetically similar to the Powerbeats 3 line, the Pro version features an updated water resistant shell and internals borrowed from Apple's AirPods.

Most notably, the Pro boasts Apple's H1 headphone chip, enabling "Hey Siri" voice activation and an enhanced wireless connection to a host iPhone, iPad or Mac. A Beats product, the headphones benefit from tuned drivers for a full, rich sound.

Customers in the U.S. and Canada were first to gain access to preorders in early May, while France, Germany and the UK started sales later that month. Australia and China kicked off preorders in June. Finland, Italy, Japan, the Netherlands, Norway, Singapore, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland and Turkey were added to the list this month.

Powerbeats Pro is scheduled to arrive in 20 countries this summer, including Belgium, Greece, Lichtenstein, Macau and Puerto Rico.